Skip to content

Thanks and Happy New Year

December 30, 2009


Thanks to all for their support this year

Subrahmanyam Kalyanasundaram and Kenneth Regan—their contributions to these discussions have been invaluable, and I thank them for their efforts. Subruk especially has had key inputs into almost every discussion: his comments have helped make them more readable, and I hope more enjoyable. I also want to thank Atish Das Sarma and Danupon Nanongkai for their help.

Today is the end of the year, and time to thank many people. I started this project almost a year ago, and have had the support of so many of you—thank you.

{\bullet } Thanks to all of you who take time to read the discussions. I cannot thank you enough.

{\bullet } Thanks to all of you who have taken time to make comments. I enjoy hearing from you, and I thank you again for your ideas, your thoughts, and opinions. We do not always agree, but I value your input very much.

{\bullet } Thanks to a number of you who helped with specific questions that I had. Thanks, especially to Jin-Yi Cai, Ryan Williams, and Ronald de Wolf who helped me many times.

{\bullet } A special thanks to Dick Karp for his kind comments and encouragement. Thanks Dick.

Open Problems

I hope I have not missed anyone. But thanks again for your support.

Have a safe, healthy, and fun New Year.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 10:34 am

    Though I’m not a theory guy, I still enjoy reading each of your post. :)

    Wish you a very happy new year!

    • rjlipton permalink*
      December 30, 2009 10:36 am

      Thanks very much.

      rjl

  2. December 30, 2009 10:59 am

    Thankyou for writing so clearly and interestingly on so many topics. I find myself using Google to consult your old blog posts surprisingly often; they’ve become a part of my “extended memory”, alongside some of my favourite textbooks and papers. I especially enjoyed the series on amplifiers, and your explanation of PCR is by far the best I’ve ever seen.

  3. Vince permalink
    December 30, 2009 12:03 pm

    Thanks for writing one of the most interesting blogs out there, and Happy New Year!

  4. December 30, 2009 12:19 pm

    Thank you for the wishes and for the blog (though I find it “a bit of disease” in itself ;-) )
    Have a great 2010 year too but don’t forget to calibrate before you jump.
    (an oldie/goodie from another interesting internet weirdo)

  5. December 30, 2009 2:23 pm

    This is THE blog! I learned so much interesting things (not just theorems) from it and from that of Terry Tao in the last time. How do you find a time to write such interesting things in such a short time, I don’t know. But my first impression each time was “wow”!

    I wish you a healthy and funny New Year!

  6. Mashhood permalink
    December 30, 2009 9:04 pm

    Happy new year.
    I really enjoyed this blog, especially the one on impossibility results was fascinating.
    The quality of the blog is so great that I think selected blogs should appear in the form a book.

  7. subruk permalink
    December 31, 2009 9:26 am

    Thanks a lot for the wishes. Happy new year to you too, Dick and happy new year to everyone else as well.

    It has been my delight and privilege to read your posts a day before everyone else. And I echo Mashhood’s thoughts that selected posts should appear as a book, maybe a series of books.

  8. I. J. Kennedy permalink
    December 31, 2009 9:44 pm

    Of the 200+ blogs in my Google Reader account, this is my favorite. I hope you know how much it means to some of us for a research mathematician to share his thoughts, and share them so eloquently.

    • rjlipton permalink*
      January 1, 2010 9:23 am

      Thanks for all your kind comments.

      • Rafee Kamouna permalink
        January 1, 2010 12:47 pm

        Happy new year Prof Lipton and thanks a lot for you distinguished blog. It is your blog that combines the spirit of formal scientific papers as well as informal friendly presentation.

        I suppose the diversity of topics and the numerous details appearing always in short time are due to longtime thinking of the topics. I’m sure everybody enjoys your “sociology of science” mentioning people at the begining of many blogs.

        Bless you to carry on to the best for 2010!

        Rafee.

Trackbacks

  1. Thanks and Happy New Year « sciencev

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,807 other followers