Skip to content

The Next Posts

July 16, 2009
tags: ,


I am off to the beach this weekend, but the post will keep on coming

images

Subrahmanyam Kalyanasundaram is one of my graduate students, who I have thanked before. And I thank him again. He has helped tremendously with just about every post. During the next week I will be at the beach, without a laptop. However, I have set up several “time-release” posts that will come out during the time I am away. I thought about just re-posting some early ones, but that seemed wrong. TV calls it encore presentations, but not here.

While I am out Subruck will watch over things. If you have any real problems, however, please wait till I get back and I will do whatever I can to help you.

Books

I thought I would suggest some books that I have recently read that you might enjoy on your holiday. I would welcome any suggestions myself, since I am always looking for fun stuff to read of all types. Here they are in no special order:

  • The circular staircase, by Mary Roberts Rinehart.
  • The professor and the madman, by Simon Winchester.
  • The first world war, by John Kegan.
  • The mold in Dr. Florey’s coat, by Eric Lax.
  • The Seance, by John Harwood.
  • Seventy-seven clocks, by Christopher Fowler.
  • The secret book of factoring, by Lofa Polir unavailable.
  • Manhunt, James Swanson.
  • Voluntary madness, by Norah Vincent.
  • Analytic number theory, Donald Newman.
  • The mathematician’s brain, David Ruelle.
  • The honors class, Ben Yandell.
  • Poincare’s prize, George Szpiro.

Open Problems

The open problems for me next week are: try to sleep late, eat a lot, lose weight, and generally recharge.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    July 16, 2009 3:09 pm

    Have fun! Please don’t burn out on blogging. Your blog is the best in TCS!

    • rjlipton permalink*
      July 16, 2009 3:35 pm

      Thanks. Will try not too.

  2. adam o permalink
    July 26, 2009 7:34 pm

    Hi Dick. I have been enjoying the essays in this book: http://grouptheoryinthebedroom.com/
    If you are looking for interesting light reading you might check it out.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,220 other followers

